One Healthy Mom

Finding Balance Between Fitness, Family, and Food

First Race of 2013

4 Comments

Today marked my first race of 2013!!  I joined two race series to challenge myself this year with running.  It seems that I am a seasonal runner.  I LOVE running in the late fall and winter, but not so much from spring until fall.  It must be the extreme humidity and heat that is in Florida.  I do miss running during that time when I switch to indoor activities (I start DVD workouts – last year I completed my first round of Insanity! 🙂 ).   Now, I won’t have any excuse to not run!!  I get to push myself all year long and its going to be awesome!!

 

Image

 

I slept in this morning.  When I finally got up, it was time to get the kiddos ready and take them to school.  After I got back (the baby stays with me during the day), I decided to try to knock out a run on the treadmill.  I HATE running long distances on the treadmill and haven’t run anything over 2 1/5 miles on it in months.  I didn’t have another option, though, so I went for it!  I set the baby up with a movie and cereal next to the treadmill and started my run.  

Mile 1 was rough, miles 2-3 were good, and miles 4-5 were amazing!  I kept increasing my speed and made the mid-run goal to finish the run under 50 minutes.  (Anyone else make mid-run goals?)  I am so excited that I ACCOMPLISHED my goal!!  I was able to run 5 miles on the treadmill in 49:12… pretty good if you ask me ;).  The baby was amazing the whole run.  She only asked for a cereal refill and was perfectly happy the entire 49 minutes!

I would love for all of you to join me in this challenge!!  The more the merrier and an amazing way to keep on top of you goals for 2013.  

The 5 by the 5th series can be found here: 5 by the 5th and the 13 in 2013 can be found here: 13 in 2013 (she extended sign-ups until 1/6).  Both are FREE so hurry on over to sign up!  

 

4 thoughts on “First Race of 2013

  1. Great job on the treadmill! I haven’t been on one in months, after I convinced myself it contributed to some shin pain this summer… but it’s so nice to have on those days with bad weather (or a baby at home!)

  2. GREAT job! I don’t mind running on the treadmill as long as I have something to watch on tv or some GREAT music!

Leave a Reply

