One Healthy Mom

Finding Balance Between Fitness, Family, and Food

“If you think you can’t, you MUST”

Leave a comment

I’ll be honest, when I saw Body Beast: Build Legs on the schedule for today I am sure I looked something like this:

2013-04-04_14-28-20-1

My legs and glutes just yesterday stopped aching from Saturday’s workout.  But it is on the schedule and the Beast knows what he’s doing.

IMG_20130404_090413

So I manned (err… womaned?) up and drank some preworkout to help pump me up.  It helped, a little, but knowing what was coming up still made me nervous.  I had to keep telling myself to get rid of the “I can’t”s that were swirling around my head and keep saying that “I can!!”.  And then to just push play.

My legs have never been strong and this workout kills them every time.  The Beast will murder your legs and keep on going.  This is the third time through this workout and always at the same point in the giant set I want to give up.  My quads ache, my heart rate is sky-high, my face is red and sweaty and I just want to stop.  My body is shaking and fatigued.  I want to throw the weights down.  I want to curl up in a ball on the floor and take a nap-nap (as Sagi says).  But somehow… some way… I keep going and finish the set.  Then as I write it down, I realize that I managed to use more weight or more reps than last week.  And I survived.  Nothing compares to that feeling of giving it your all during a workout and improving week to week.

2013-04-04_10-14-45-1

Keep giving it 100%.  Fitness is so mental.  Your mind will tell you to stop before your body actually needs to.  I have learned over the years that I am so much stronger than I give myself credit for.  I can get through this moment of being uncomfortable because the feeling after it will be worth it.   Sagi always gets me back on track when he says that your body is saying NO but your heart is telling you YES.  I realize that I DO want this no matter how much sweat and tears I shed in the process (and yes, there were tears during this workout!).  But as long as I keep believing I can, I know I will succeed.

And the same is true for you.  I already believe in you.  Now it’s up to you to make it happen!!  Go out and prove your mind wrong and bask in the feeling of accomplishment you have when finish.  It will be worth it, I promise!

Leave a Reply

