One Healthy Mom

Finding Balance Between Fitness, Family, and Food

Vega Sport Protein Powder Review

Leave a comment

2353-FuelYourBetter-Tag

When I was asked by Fit Approach to review Vega Sports Protein Powder for their #FuelYourBetter campaign, I jumped at the opportunity.  I am always trying to find ways to eat more protein.  Although I am not a vegan, I prefer not to eat massive amounts of meat to fulfill my daily protein intake and I needed something that wouldn’t upset my sensitive stomach.  I was also looking for a protein that I could use for recovery after a grueling workout.   Vega Sport Performance Protein sounded like a perfect fit!

VegaSport_ProteinBox_Vanilla_US

 

From their website:

Performance Protein

A complete multi-source, alkaline-forming, plant-based protein powder blend, featuring 5,000mg of BCAAs and 5,000mg of glutamine per serving, Vega Sport Performance Protein is formulated to:

  • Improve strength and exercise performance
  • Repair and build muscles
  • Reduce recovery time between training

Available in Chocolate, Vanilla, and Berry.

2353-FuelYourBetter-ProductImages-Protein

I was very excited when I received a box full of Performance Protein in the mail.  I made a smoothie right away and added a packet of protein powder.  I should add that I have never tried a vegan powder before and it did taste a bit chalkier than a whey protein powder shake.  But knowing that it was all vegan and the fact that it didn’t upset my stomach after drinking was more than enough for me to overcome the slight chalky taste.  The flavor was spot on, it tasted like what I would expect from a vanilla protein powder.  Over the next few weeks, I whipped up a post-workout smoothie with Vega Sport Performance Protein added in.  I noticed quicker recovery time and less muscle soreness after a workout.  I was also full from my shake (sometimes I need to eat a few meals to feel satisfied after a workout).  Vega delivered on everything that they promised out of their sport protein powder and I found myself sad once the samples ran out.  I am very glad that I was able to try Vega’s protein powder and will be ordering some soon!!

I preferred drinking the protein powder blended with fruit although it wasn’t bad on its own.  My two favorite smoothie combinations:

IMG_20140507_134701

Strawberries, Vega Sport protein, spinach, coconut milk

IMG_20140512_120948

Blueberries, Vega protein powder, Chia Seeds, Spinach, Coconut Milk, Stevia

Interested in Vega Sports Performance Powder?  Be sure to check out their website and let me know what you would use to #FuelYourBetter!!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

